Senior DC Farm Economists to Speak at the James C. Snyder Memorial Event

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Ted McKinney, Matt Erickson, Rob Johansson and Joe Balagtas, all former government economists who recently served in Washington, DC, will participate in a panel discussion at the James C. Snyder 2021 commemorative event, presented by the Purdue University Department of Agricultural Economics. The panel will be held virtually at 1:30 p.m. on April 16.

McKinney served as the US Department of Agriculture’s first Under-Secretary for Foreign Agricultural Affairs and Trade from 2017 to 2021. Erickson served as Chief Economist for the US Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry from 2015 at 21; he is currently an economic and agricultural policy advisor for Farm Credit Services of America and Frontier Farm Credit. Johansson was chief economist for the Department of Agriculture from 2015-21 and is now associate director of economics and policy analysis for the American Sugar Alliance. Balagtas was a senior economist for the White House Council of Economic Advisers from 2019-2020 and is currently an associate professor of agricultural economics at Purdue.

Jayson Lusk, distinguished professor and head of the agricultural economics department at Purdue, will lead the panel. Panelists will be asked about their experiences in Washington DC, the challenges they faced, their views on what worked and what didn’t, and what changes might be expected from the new administration and the party. in the power of Congress.

Economists join a list of respected leaders in agricultural business and economics who were guest speakers at the James C. Snyder Memorial Event. The Department of Agricultural Economics’ flagship annual event was established in 1975 in honor of James C. Snyder, who was a professor and researcher in agricultural economics at Purdue.

For more information on the event, visit the James C. Snyder Memorial Website or contact Tracy Buck at [email protected], 765-494-4191.

Writer: We are Goodwin, [email protected]

Agricultural communications: 765-494-8415;

Maureen Manier, Head of Department, [email protected]

Agricultural News

Source Link

Please follow and like us: