For WhatsApp users, there are some ways to know if someone has blocked you on the instant messaging app. WhatsApp has been ambiguous in telling its users if they have been blocked as it aims to protect user privacy. The messaging app doesn’t explicitly tell you if you’ve been blocked by someone, but there are a few pointers as to whether someone has blocked you. Here’s how to tell if you’ve been blocked.
Facebook– belonging to WhatsApp a posed some pointers to check if someone has blocked you on the messaging app. However, keep in mind that these indicators do not guarantee that a contact may have blocked you.
How to tell if you’ve been blocked on Whatsapp
Checking last seen / online status
One of the easiest ways to check is to find their last seen or online status in the chat window. However, it’s also possible that you won’t see their last seen as they may have turned it off in settings.
Profile picture verification
If someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you might not be able to see their profile picture. However, if you can see the person’s profile picture and you have been blocked, you might not be able to see their updated profile picture.
Sending a message to the contact
If you send a message to the contact who blocked you, you will only be able to see a single check mark on the message, as opposed to double check marks or blue double check marks (i.e. read receipts).
Any attempt to call the contact may not be successful. You will only see a call message when you place the call. However, this can also happen if the recipient of the call does not have an internet connection.
Create a group on WhatsApp
If you try to create a group with a contact that you suspect has blocked you, the process of creating the group will result in only you in that group.